HomeSitemapKey Personnel
Other Municipal Corporation Acts
Apart from Kolkata there are five others Municipal Corporations in the State namely the Howrah Municipal Corporation, Siliguri Municipal Corporation, Asansol Municipal Corporation, Chandannagar Municipal Corporation and Durgapur Municipal Corporation. All these Municipal Corporation are been administered by the separate the Howrah Municipal Corporation Act, 1980, the Siliguri Municipal Corporation Act, 1990, the Asansol Municipal Corporation Act, 1990, the Chandannagar Municipal Corporation Act, 1990 and the Durgapur Municipal Corporation Act, 1994.

Provisions of these Acts are exactly similar and similar to that of the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 with the following variations:

  • The Mayor is the First Citizen of the Corporation. The administration of the Corporation is run by the Mayor-in-Council constituted the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor and the maximum of 10 other elected members of the Corporation.
  • There is a Chairman, elected by the Councilors who exercises the powers in the Corporations which is similar to that of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.
  • The Mayor nominates one of the Councilors as the Deputy Mayor.
  • For further decentralization there is a borough setup. Corporation constitutes 15 boroughs which are groups of contiguous wards. Each borough committees civic administration in borough areas are supervised by a borough committee constituted by a Councilors of the wards of concerned borough.
  • The Chief Administrative Officers of the Corporation is the Commissioner in the case of Howrah Municipal Corporation, and Chief Executive Officer in the case of other Municipal Corporations.
Excepting Howrah Municipal Corporation in the other Municipal Corporations the accounts rules and the building rules framed under the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 has been made applicable.
Municipal Act
West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 KMC Act, 1980 Howrah Municipal Corporation Act, 1980 WB Municipal Elections Act, 1994 West Bengal Valuation Board Act, 1978 WB Municipal Corporation Bill, 2006WB Act XXXIX of 2006, The WB Municipal Corporation Act, 2006
Salient Features of the Rules framed under the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993:
1. Building Rules, 2007
2. Finance & Accounting Rules, 1999
3. Procedure & Conduct of Business Rules, 1995
4. Ward Committee Rules, 2001
5. Duties and Responsibilities of Executive Officer Rules, 2003
6. Remuneration and Allowances Rules, 1996
7. Internal Audit  Rules, 1997
8. Submission of Annual Administrative Report Rules, 1996
9. Municipal Employees (Recruitment) Rules, 2005
10. Municipal Employees (Death-cum-Retirement Benefits) Rules, 2003
11. Levy of Fee for Supply of Water Rules, 2002
12. The Nabadiganta Industrial Township Authority Rules, 2006
Copyright © Department of Municipal Affairs, Govt. of West Bengal
Site best viewed in Internet Explorer 6.0 or above in 1024 x 768 resolution
Site Developed & Maintenance by Telmac