HomeSitemapKey Personnel
The Kolkata Municipal Corporation Act, 1980
The Kolkata Municipal Corporation Act, 1980 [pdf]
Civic Government in Kolkata has started its journey with the enactment of the Calcutta Municipal Act, 1923. Later this Act was replaced by the Calcutta Municipal Act, 1951. At last the Act of 1951 was replaced by a new Act namely the Calcutta Municipal Corporation Act, 1980. The name of 'Calcutta' has been converted to 'Kolkata' after enactment of the West Bengal Capital City (Change of Name) Act, 2001.

Powers and functions of the Kolkata Municipal Corporation under the Kolkata Municipal Corporation Act are almost identical to that of the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 with the following major variations-

  1. The number of wards of Kolkata Municipal Corporation is fixed to 141, and the boundaries of each ward of Kolkata Municipal Corporation is fixed in scheduled II of the Act.
  2. The Mayor is the First Citizen of the Corporation. The administration of the Corporation is run by the Mayor-in-Council constituted the Mayor, the Deputy Mayor and the maximum of 10 other elected members of the Corporation.
  3. There is a Chairman, elected by the Councilors who exercises the powers in the Corporations which is similar to that of the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly.
  4. The Mayor nominates one of the Councilors as the Deputy Mayor.
  5. For further decentralization there is a borough setup. Corporation constitutes 15 boroughs which are groups of contiguous wards. Each borough committees civic administration in borough areas are supervised by a borough committee constituted by a Councilors of the wards of concerned borough.
  6. The Chief Administrative Officers of the Corporation is the Municipal Commissioner.
  7. The Corporation is empowered for assessing the properties with in the Corporation area, unless otherwise the directed by the State Government, for the purpose of imposition of property tax.
  8. The Corporation is empowered to fix the rates of various fees tolls and taxes in there bugged estimate.
Municipal Act
West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 KMC Act, 1980 Howrah Municipal Corporation Act, 1980 WB Municipal Elections Act, 1994 West Bengal Valuation Board Act, 1978 WB Municipal Corporation Bill, 2006WB Act XXXIX of 2006, The WB Municipal Corporation Act, 2006
Salient Features of the Rules framed under the West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993:
1. Building Rules, 2007
2. Finance & Accounting Rules, 1999
3. Procedure & Conduct of Business Rules, 1995
4. Ward Committee Rules, 2001
5. Duties and Responsibilities of Executive Officer Rules, 2003
6. Remuneration and Allowances Rules, 1996
7. Internal Audit  Rules, 1997
8. Submission of Annual Administrative Report Rules, 1996
9. Municipal Employees (Recruitment) Rules, 2005
10. Municipal Employees (Death-cum-Retirement Benefits) Rules, 2003
11. Levy of Fee for Supply of Water Rules, 2002
12. The Nabadiganta Industrial Township Authority Rules, 2006
Copyright © Department of Municipal Affairs, Govt. of West Bengal
Site best viewed in Internet Explorer 6.0 or above in 1024 x 768 resolution
Site Developed & Maintenance by Telmac