HomeSitemapKey Personnel
Urban Local Body / Municipalities
Criteria for Constitution of Urban Local Bodies  
West Bengal Municipal Act, 1993 specifies a set of criteria for the constitution of new municipal area. Such criteria are, however, subject to relaxation for constitution of Notified Area Authorities. The criteria are:  
  • Population of the area should not be less than 30,000.
  • Density of the population should not be less than 750 inhabitants per square kilometre of area.
  • One half of the adult population should be chiefly engaged in pursuits other than agriculture, and
  • Income from taxation and other sources should likely to be adequate for the discharge of municipal functions under the Municipal Act.
  Urban West Bengal (Census 2001)
Darjeeling Dist. Kolkata Municipal Korporatio Howrah North 24 Parganas South 24 parganas Nadia Murshidabad Hooghly Burdwan Birbhum Bankura West Midnapore East Midnapore Purulia Jalpaiguri Maldha Dakshin Dinsjpur Uttar Dinajpur Cooch Behar
Copyright © Department of Municipal Affairs, Govt. of West Bengal
Site best viewed in Internet Explorer 6.0 or above in 1024 x 768 resolution
Site Developed & Maintenance by Telmac